Sunday, August 21, 2016

2016 Hugo Winners

And the winner is:  


My Vote

The Actual Winner

BEST NOVEL (3695 ballots)

·      Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie (Orbit)
·      The Cinder Spires: The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher (Roc)
·      The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
·      Seveneves: A Novel by Neal Stephenson (William Morrow)
·      Uprooted by Naomi Novik (Del Rey)
The Fifth Season
The Cinder Spires
No Award

The Fifth Season

BEST NOVELLA (2416 ballots)

·      Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (
·      The Builders by Daniel Polansky (
·      Penric’s Demon by Lois McMaster Bujold (Spectrum)
·      Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson (Dragonsteel Entertainment)
·      Slow Bullets by Alastair Reynolds (Tachyon)
Penric’s Demon
Perfect State
Slow Bullets
No Award

BEST NOVELETTE (1975 ballots)

·      “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead” by Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed, Feb2015)
·      “Flashpoint: Titan” by CHEAH Kai Wai (There Will Be War Volume X, Castalia House)
·      “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang, trans. Ken Liu (Uncanny Magazine, Jan-Feb 2015)
·      “Obits” by Stephen King (The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, Scribner)
·      “What Price Humanity?” by David VanDyke (There Will Be War Volume X, Castalia House)
Folding Beijing
What Price Humanity
And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead
No Award
Folding Beijing

BEST SHORT STORY (2451 ballots)

·      “Asymmetrical Warfare” by S. R. Algernon (Nature, Mar 2015)
·      “Cat Pictures Please” by Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld, January 2015)
·      “If You Were an Award, My Love” by Juan Tabo and S. Harris (, Jun 2015)
·      “Seven Kill Tiger” by Charles Shao (There Will Be War Volume X, Castalia House)
·      Space Raptor Butt Invasion by Chuck Tingle (Amazon Digital Services)
Cat Pictures Please 
Cat Pictures Please

BEST RELATED WORK (2080 ballots)

·      Between Light and Shadow: An Exploration of the Fiction of Gene Wolfe, 1951 to 1986 by Marc Aramini (Castalia House)
·      “The First Draft of My Appendix N Book” by Jeffro Johnson (
·      “Safe Space as Rape Room” by Daniel Eness (
·      SJWs Always Lie: Taking Down the Thought Police by Vox Day (Castalia House)
·      “The Story of Moira Greyland” by Moira Greyland (
No Award
No Award

BEST GRAPHIC STORY (1838 ballots)

·      The Divine written by Boaz Lavie, art by Asaf Hanuka and Tomer Hanuka (First Second)
·      Erin Dies Alone written by Grey Carter, art by Cory Rydell (
·      Full Frontal Nerdity by Aaron Williams (
·      Invisible Republic Vol 1 written by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman, art by Gabriel Hardman (Image Comics)
·      The Sandman: Overture written by Neil Gaiman, art by J.H. Williams III (Vertigo)
The Sandman: Overture


·      Avengers: Age of Ultron written and directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
·      Ex Machina written and directed by Alex Garland (Film4; DNA Films; Universal Pictures)
·      Mad Max: Fury Road written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nico Lathouris, directed by George Miller (Village Roadshow Pictures; Kennedy Miller Mitchell; RatPac-Dune Entertainment; Warner Bros. Pictures)
·      The Martian screenplay by Drew Goddard, directed by Ridley Scott (Scott Free Productions; Kinberg Genre; TSG Entertainment; 20th Century Fox)
·      Star Wars: The Force Awakens written by Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, and Michael Arndt, directed by J.J. Abrams (Lucasfilm Ltd.; Bad Robot Productions; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
The Martian

The Martian


·      Doctor Who: “Heaven Sent” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Rachel Talalay (BBC Television)
·      Grimm: “Headache” written by Jim Kouf and David Greenwalt, directed by Jim Kouf(Universal Television; GK Productions; Hazy Mills Productions; Open 4 Business Productions; NBCUniversal Television Distribution)
·      Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile” written by Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg, and Jamie King, directed by Michael Rymer (Marvel Television; ABC Studios; Tall Girls Productions;Netflix)
·      My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic: “The Cutie Map” Parts 1 and 2 written by Scott Sonneborn, M.A. Larson, and Meghan McCarthy, directed by Jayson Thiessen and Jim Miller (DHX Media/Vancouver; Hasbro Studios)
·      Supernatural: “Just My Imagination” written by Jenny Klein, directed by Richard Speight Jr. (Kripke Enterprises; Wonderland Sound and Vision; Warner Bros. Television)

My Little Pony
Jessica Jones

BEST EDITOR – SHORT FORM (1891 ballots)

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Jerry Pournelle
  • Sheila Williams
Ellen Datlow

BEST EDITOR – LONG FORM (1764 ballots)

  • Vox Day
  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Jim Minz
  • Toni Weisskopf
Toni Weisskopf
Sheila Gilbert


  • Lars Braad Andersen
  • Larry Elmore
  • Abigail Larson
  • Michal Karcz
  • Larry Rostant
Abigail Larson
Larry Elmore
Michal Karcz
Lars Braad Andersen
Larry Rostant
Abigail Larson

BEST SEMIPROZINE (1457 ballots)

·      Beneath Ceaseless Skies edited by Scott H. Andrews
·      Daily Science Fiction edited by Michele-Lee Barasso and Jonathan Laden
·      Sci Phi Journal edited by Jason Rennie
·      Strange Horizons edited by Catherine Krahe, Julia Rios, A. J. Odasso, Vanessa Rose Phin,Maureen Kincaid Speller, and the Strange Horizons staff
·      Uncanny Magazine edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

BEST FANZINE (1455 ballots)

·      Castalia House Blog edited by Jeffro Johnson
·      File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
·      Lady Business edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan
·      Superversive SF edited by Jason Rennie
·      Tangent Online edited by Dave Truesdale
File 770
File 770

BEST FANCAST (1267 ballots)

·      8-4 Play, Mark MacDonald, John Ricciardi, Hiroko Minamoto, and Justin Epperson
·      Cane and Rinse, Cane and Rinse
·      HelloGreedo, HelloGreedo
·      The Rageaholic, RazörFist
·      Tales to Terrify, Stephen Kilpatrick
No Award

BEST FAN WRITER (1568 ballots)

  • Douglas Ernst
  • Mike Glyer
  • Morgan Holmes
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Shamus Young

Mike Glyer
Mike Glyer

BEST FAN ARTIST (1073 ballots)

  • Matthew Callahan
  • disse86
  • Kukuruyo
  • Christian Quinot
  • Steve Stiles
Steve Stiles


  • Pierce Brown
  • Sebastien de Castell
  • Brian Niemeier
  • Andy Weir
  • Alyssa Wong
Andy Weir

Andy Weir

No comments:

Post a Comment